RSS Feed

What Advocare Has Taught Me

Posted on

AC_logoblue-pms2748

As I sit here and type this, my grandpa is in the hospital after having several tests done to find out that he had 2 polyps in his colon. They were removed and he will be going home in the morning. All great news! However, through this whole ordeal I realized that I really need to commit to being the healthiest version of me. That means no more convincing myself that eating fried chicken is okay as long as it isn’t everyday, picking up brownies or cookies at the store is okay as long as it isn’t all the time, etc. Here’s the deal, it’s not just once in a while. The unhealthy things are happening more and more.

However, there have been HUGE strides that I have noticed as well. Yesterday, while at the hospital I went to the cafeteria for a snack. My mom and I both went. She got soda and pudding parfait, I got a side salad with Italian dressing. As we were walking back to the room, I look at my mom and say “who the hell gets a side salad for a snack?” It is a strange but awesome revelation in my journey to health and the best version of me. Today, I got a tea and a veggie cup (carrots, broccoli, celery). Today, I literally was wandering around the cafeteria looking for a snack and the worker brought them out on a cart. I was SOLD. Then I went to get the mail, and the only thing in the mail box was a coupon for pizza. I was having all sorts of conflicting emotions about the day and I almost ordered the pizza. Instead though I decided my health was worth more than pizza and I came home and heated up chicken, sweet potatoes and cauliflower. Yay for little wins.

The other thought that I had is how do we know what we are doing today is what we should be doing to be the best version of ourselves? Back in the day, smoking was an acceptable and now it is almost taboo. You are the minority if you smoke. Not that I do, and never have, but how do we know?

So in closing, I will be starting another Advocare 24-Day Challenge on Sunday. This time I will be doing the challenge with my mom, she is the reason I’m doing another challenge. I want to be her support system through the challenge. Be the person who is going through the SAME EXACT THINGS at the same time. Be the person who will understand that you want the biggest piece of chocolate cake and instead you are eating a plate full of cauliflower! This challenge is going to be awesome. I also am making a goal to reach at least 10,000 steps a day for the duration of the challenge! Here goes nothing! Oh and just like the last challenge I will be documenting the whole challenge.

If you are interested in starting your own 24-Day Challenge check out my website! http://www.advocare.com/140932680 I’d love to help you get started on your own journey to health.

About skylerae

I am a foodaholic on my way to finding a healthier and happier way of life. I've found my love of exercising in high intensity functional fitness (much like CrossFit) and Zumba. I am striving to become the best version of myself for many years to come!

Leave a Reply

