RSS Feed

Week 1: not a fan.

Posted on

Not-A-Fan

Last night I attended a new series with my Rooted group, it is called not a fan. It is based on the book by Kyle Idleman and about becoming a completely committed follower of Jesus. First we watched a 30 minute video and then we had small group discussion. It was really good.

The video is really more like a movie the way it’s laid out, which is good to keep attention, and I think it really helps keep people’s attention. The movie format, I think, also really helps people relate. The movie last night really hit home for me. There was a sudden death and it showed everyone’s reactions to death. The anger, sadness, compassion, gratefulness for knowing the person, etc. Why it hit home so hard though, is it reminded me of when my grandpa passed away in 2008. I totally lost God after his passing. I was very angry about it for a very long time and have just recently begun dealing with the emotions of what had happened. This has also led me back into God’s loving arms and surrendering my life to Him.

The basic question of this series is, are you a fan or are you a follower? What have you given up to follow Jesus? What has following Jesus cost you? Kyle asks you to DTR, define the relationship, with God. For me these questions are very hard to just answer. I think the answers are not black and white, but more grey and difficult to answer. I think my answer would be a fan transitioning to a follower. I am mid-journey and trying to get to being a follower with everyday that I spend growing my faith and understanding in the ancient word of Jesus.

Have any of you read the book or done the series with your church? What did you think? I just ordered the followers journal. I’m really excited to get it and start doing daily devotionals again. I really liked that part of the Rooted group.

I will be documenting my thoughts and experiences through the course of this study. I’m really excited to be participating in another small group at Faith Chapel Billings. I think the small groups is where all the growth really happens and the weekly services help to solidify and make you think about you and your relationship with God.

About skylerae

I am a foodaholic on my way to finding a healthier and happier way of life. I've found my love of exercising in high intensity functional fitness (much like CrossFit) and Zumba. I am striving to become the best version of myself for many years to come!

Leave a Reply

